“You were very brave to walk up to the crippled girl and say, essentially, wipe that sunny look off your face and look at reality. That’s what I want you to do next year. Tell me the truth. That’s all.” – Say What You Will, pg. 27


18599754Stats:

Title: Say What You Willa
Author: Cammie McGovern
Genre: Young Adult fiction
Erin’s teaser synopsis: While There are different types and levels of disabilities, but no matter what the classification of Amy’s and Matthew’s very different handicaps, they’re both social outcasts. The two become best friends when Matthew takes on the job of essentially just being Amy’s friend for money, but their relationship grows, despite her mother’s disapproval.
Why I relate to it: Everyone feels like an outcast sometimes, and I’m a sucker for a good “finding real friends” story. Plus, independence and sticking up for the underdog and whatnot. I related closely to Amy’s character throughout most of the book – how absorbed she is in her own thoughts and perceptions even though her reality is sometimes the exact opposite.
Judgement call: I really wish that this book had been 10 chapters shorter with a very different resolution. I mean, yes, I guessed it ahead of time, but that doesn’t mean that I’m any happier about the outcome. I felt that it didn’t work for the direction the characters were heading, and that it undid a lot of the development…but then, I’m not published and McGovern is, many times over. Perhaps her next one (that I already checked out from the school library) will turn out better.

You can purchase this book, as well as McGovern’s written-for-adults tomes at Amazon.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

