“Now, I accept that I may never arrive at teaching paradise, but as long as I hold on to my love of books and show my students what it really means to live as a reader, I’ll be a lot closer than I was.” – The Book Whisperer, pg. 18

I’ve read this book before, at least a couple times (I believe I’ve been saying 4 recently, but I have no real data to back that up). However, all this talk of new curriculum had me very quickly re-reading it, looking to remind myself of the keys she teaches.

519lhx-uozl-_sx377_bo1204203200_
Stats:

Title: The Book Whisperer
Author: Donalyn Miller
Genre: Nonfiction (it’s a teacher book)
Erin’s teaser synopsis: While many teachers will say that students have changed drastically over the past few years, I’ll say that the biggest change that I’ve noticed in K-12 is the reluctance to read. Donalyn Miller wrote a book about her uncanny ability to turn any of her students into a reader with choice, high-interest novels, and independence.
Why I relate to it: I’m a teacher who loves to read and write, teaching kids who love me – but not necessarily my subject. Obviously, this is a book that speaks to me.
Judgement call:  While there are valuable insights to it…I feel that many people rave about it like it’s the end-all-be-all of getting kiddos to read. It’s not. It’s a great way to help you rethink teaching a whole class novel or make you feel like literature circles are possible (and maybe they are!) but it’s not some miracle that’s going to help your suspiciously-absent-from-her-list category of “Refusing Readers” suddenly race each other to the library. So yes, read it, but don’t expect miracles – and don’t be surprised if you already do 90% of what’s mentioned if you’re truly a good teacher.

I personally have never purchased it, preferring to check it out from the public library. However, you can also find it at Amazon (of course) if I already have it checked out.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

