“”Miss Malarkey keeps giving me books. She says she’ll find a book for me if it kills her. I don’t want her to die, so I told her I’d keep trying.””
– Miss Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind

After my rather realist post about The Book Whisperer, I have to say that this tiny little picture book re-inspired me where my procedural text failed.


614pcwx32btl-_sx258_bo1204203200_Stats:

Title: Miss Malarkey Leaves No Reader Behind
Author: Judy Finchler & Kevin O’Malley
Genre: Children’s books
Erin’s teaser synopsis: This is a picture book about “that kid.” Or, rather, “those kids.” The ones who don’t like to read. Just plain don’t like it. And nothing that his poor teacher is doing or trying for him is working to get him and his friends to read – sounds like the story of my life, to be completely honest.
Why I relate to it: As I mention above, this is totally just the story of my life. Now, eventually, because it’s a book for children, the damn kid reads at the end. This isn’t how it always works out in real life, but sometimes we get those small rays of light that other people call “success” and this reminds me what it feels like.
Judgement call: This book proves that every teacher’s struggle is real – but let me also let you in on a little secret: Miss Malarkey had it easy. She’s an elementary school teacher, which means that the kids are still more susceptiple (compared to high schoolers) to adult opinion, and that the students she’s working with are much fewer than I work with. Now, they may rotate, whatever, but she only teachers like 60 kids, max. I teach over 180. Still…still. I’m in a place where I much preferred this type of presentation than the teacher book.

I’d just check it out for inspiration at the local library, but if you want to buy a copy for your classroom, then you can find it on Amazon.

 

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

