I’m all about setting obtainable goals, and in order for me to actually make it through the 12 books in the 4 weeks I have until my final semester of grad school begins, I needed just a few freebies in the form of children’s books.

This is one of them.

51hohyjv6tl-_sx258_bo1204203200_Stats:
Title: The Day the Crayons Quit
Author: Drew Daywalt
Genre: Picture book
Erin’s teaser synopsis: This one poor kid, Duncan, goes to get out his crayons one day and instead finds a stack of letters from his beloved art supplies, detailing the reasons why they quit.
Why I relate to it: I’m a teacher. I’m overworked. And to be quite honest, I see the way my students treat art supplies every single day. Poor little guys.
Judgement call: It’s pretty cute, and it teaches children about voice – honestly, I might use it to teach my own students about character traits and voice this year. We’ll just have to see.

At your nearest public library, I’m sure, but if you want to find one to buy for a kiddo in your life who needs to learn more respect for their over-worked, under-appreciated crayons, you can get it easily and quickly at Amazon.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

