For the past week and a half, my dad has been helping me around the house, finishing up little things and accomplishing those “house goals” that I refuse to write down because I’m trying to enjoy myself and be less type-A this summer. This is particularly nice of him because I break things a lot (like, I broke my storm door today by stepping on the bottom of it), and I’m generally not very handy, so I’m not much help. Also, today is his birthday, so he’s a real trooper for putting the finishing touches on the jewelry project by my vanity this evening.

Here’s a glance at what I’ve been doing.

The shoe closet my dad built for me, as a part of my birthday present:
Photo Jul 11, 5 50 04 PM

Then there’s the project that I worked on, that he just helped me hang: my jewelry station. I ordered a sweet necklace carousel from Etsy and mounted it for my way-too-many necklaces collection.

Photo Jul 14, 10 57 11 PM

Then I had my dad mount a gift I received a while ago and wanted to repurpose for my non-cuff bracelets. I didn’t take a separate picture, but you’ll see the key-shaped key holder in the photos. It’s pretty cute. Next, I decided that in order to hold both my cuff bracelets and my stud earrings, I needed to make use of my many, many wine corks laying around my house. There are many ways to do this, I used an IKEA spice rack that I’d already decided to repurpose as a hand towel rack, a hot glue gun, and the prettiest/most unique wine corks in my family’s collection.

Photo Jul 14, 10 11 11 PM

Sidenote: I went to Mizzou, so the first one I glued down had to be this one (it’s glued bird-side up on the far left):

Photo Jul 14, 10 00 53 PM

Then, I used my most stable post earrings to poke holes where I wanted them, and viola! A shelf that holds my random post-style earring collection and makes sure my beautiful bracelets don’t slide off.

Photo Jul 18, 9 50 25 PM

Finally, I couldn’t decide if I wanted to go with metal or burlap or lace or what for my dangly earrings, but I decided to just experiment with (again) hot glue and the stuff I already had lying around the house, and it turned out pretty cute.

Photo Jul 18, 9 49 59 PMThere you have it, folks, my new jewelry area, completely complete.

Photo Jul 18, 9 49 36 PM

Now on to the next project!

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

