For my final book this break (yeah, I can’t believe I made it either, especially after I took like 5 days to read that one neurosurgeons book), I chose one that I started LAST Christmas break and never got past the first chapter.

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 2.03.02 PM

Stats:
Title: Purity
Author: Jackson Pearce
Genre: Young Adult fiction
Erin’s teaser synopsis: Shelby, our protagonist, has kept three promises she made at her mother’s death bed for the past five years, no matter what. Now, though, faced with a purity ball that may force two of those promises to contradict each other, she’s faced with five weeks to put into action the only plan she could come up with to avoid the conflict: losing that purity before the ball.
Why I relate to it: I spent more than a little time I’m college working on sexual health initiatives and it’s still a passion of mine, simply because I think the way that parents handle sex with their kids is all kinds of wrong, especially when it involves religion. So even though this was a fiction book rather than the nonfiction tomes that grace my shelves, it was still interesting.
Judgement call: I didn’t expect the book to be so much about her relationship with her father, but I really enjoyed those parts, in addition to what I anticipated. Plus, I’ve always loved Pearce’s style of writing, so it was a quick and easy read that I know I’ll take a couple of days to really absorb and decide if I liked the message or not.

And, as always, you can find this and every other book you could possibly want to read, on Amazon. Though I will say that I specifically remember buying my copy from the local used book store.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

