If you’ve read my first post for 12 Books of Christmas Break, then you already know why I might have chosen to read this particular selection. If not, hop over there and read it. Use your inferencing skills.

Stats:
Title: Selected Poems
Author: Emily Dickinson
Genre: Poetry (duh)
Erin’s teaser synopsis: Uh, this is a book of 109 poems, written by Emily Dickinson. I’ve read it before, in college, for class and rarely touched it in the 9 years since then. One thing I do have to point out is that Dickinson’s poems are easy to understand and relate to, as well as rocking that whole “keeping your attention” thing.
Why I relate to it: Y’all, Emily was a little strange for a number of reasons and she never married. So, basically, we’re the same person.
Judgement call: Poetry is a tough call for me, honestly, because I feel like it’s so dependent on your feelings and your own experiences (much like visual art) that it’s not fair of me to pass judgement on it. I could totally be interpreting it wrong. However, I will say that in Miss Dickinson’s volume, there has to be at least one or two poems for everyone – and they’re short! Personally, this one was my favorite:

We outgrow love like other things.
And put it in the drawer,
Till it an antique fashion shows
Like costumes grandsires wore.

You can read all of Emily’s poetry online, or you can pick up the book of selections that I read from Amazon.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

