There are a lot of great Christmas movies out there. There are also a lot of awful Christmas movies out there. Most of the latter are on Netflix, so load up that queue.

I have my own little list of preferences and traditions…but there’s one that has always been one of my favorites, and tonight, it claimed the spot of honor as the first Christmas movie I watched this year.

My fave for this year is….While You Were Sleeping. 

Y’all, this movie is so good that I like it even though I’m not really a Sandra Bullock fan. Why is it so good? Simple. It’s about a sweet girl who saves this guy and ends up becoming a part of his family. By lying about being his fiancee and then falling in love with his brother.

005127e4dd6e59a4b2e3574a7e52cc7a.jpg

Bless Lucy (Bullock’s character), she’s such a poor, lonely little girl just trying to do the right thing. She’s so easy to relate to – especially as a single chick.

dd4ac029ae5b05964fd4da948e0dadab

You can totally forgive her for the whole lying bit.

Basically, it’s something I would do. I am her, a little bit, I love traveling even though I don’t get to do it often, I live alone with my pet, I tend to fall for guys rather quickly and irrationally, and her (eventual) family is a little overwhelming.

Plus, I mean, it’s perfect in its humor. Not over-done, not too subtle…just right.

9e271bb908be070e4e5ac257341bfa25

d9aea6f23656910bbafc711ee1387f1a

 

And it teaches us what leaning really means. I can’t tell you how many times a year I reference this.

d93df6d36187b06f11424aef30b717f8

That’s something you don’t learn in school, folks. (At least, I didn’t.)

So this holiday season, make time to watch an old 90s classic. And eat some jello, because who doesn’t like jello?

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 12.14.32 AM

 

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

