This year, I didn’t do a Thanksgiving post.

There are a few reasons for that, most importantly because I was too busy hopping from one Thanksgiving to the next, in New York City. However, there’s one more reason that I just wasn’t having it about Thanksgiving going on the blog this year. And that’s because I didn’t want to fake it.

You know, there are those years when you feel absolutely thankless because so much has gone wrong in your life. You just can’t seem to rally too much up.

Then there are other years when everything is so amazing, you feel like listing all the things that you’re thankful for would be too much like bragging.

For me, this year is neither of those types of years. It’s an in-the-middle year. A meh year. I’m not angry at the world, nor do I particularly want to celebrate it. It’s a regular year.

It has reminded me, in fact, multiple times, of a specific scene in one of my favorite love-to-hate movies.

Nicholson goes on to say that what makes it so, so very bad. The full quote, all explained, reads something like this:

Noodle salad

You see, I understand that quote. I’m not going to explain it to you, because I feel like if you’re going to get it, like really and truly get it, then you will. And if you don’t get it, well, it’s because you don’t want to, most likely.

The truth is, I have both kinds of stories. As Helen Hunt says, I have the stories that everyone has, that we all have to get over. And, in addition, I’m lucky enough to also have good times and noodle salad -type of stories.

And this week, I’m thankful for the opportunity to make more of the latter. Even if, by Wednesday, I’ll be heading away from the people who help me make my best stories. That whole leaving part? That’s what shows us that life is real.

It’s not all perfect, and it’s not all bad. It’s just…life.

And I think, ladies and gents, that this is what we forget occasionally. That life is life. It’s not a movie (despite the many movie scenes that for some reason play out in my life), it’s not a TV sitcom, and it’s definitely not a fairy tale.

The sooner we accept this, and accept what the future holds, the better we’ll be able to appreciate those good times with noodle salad and the easier it will be to deal with those other stories. Because I know that if I had the choice between having both good and bad stories or no stories at all, I’d pick good and bad every time.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

