Inspired by an article from Glamour online (by Megan Angelo) that points out the striking similarities between Ariana Grande’s video for Break Free and Brit Brit’s video for Oops I Did it Again!, this week is a listing of my five favorite space-themed music videos. I probably should have done this last week so I could include Say You’ll Be There, but just know that it’s #6.

Yes. That’s what this really is. And yes, there are enough for me to make a list. Actually, there are enough for me to make a Top 5 list that actually contains 7 songs. I’m an English teacher, not math.

5. Men In Black – Will Smith

Hey 90s kids: remember when Will Smith wrote songs to go with his movies? Remember how awesome that was? Yeah, me too.

4. Oops!…I Did It Again – Britney Spears 

I knew the dance to this by heart in middle school. I’m not proud of this, just honest. And remember what a huge deal people made about her red jumpsuit?

4. (again) Break Free – Arianna Grande

Much as I hate to admit it, I prefer this updated version…but I still couldn’t let her overthrow my girl Britney. So. A tie it is.

3. Cartoon Heroes & Lollipop – Aqua

Though this group is best-known for Barbie Girl, they also had a fixation on spacey vids. I have to admit, though I’m not that into the songs themselves, they’re pretty good music videos.

 2. I Believe in a Thing Called Love – The Darkness

Okay, I’ve listed this one on its own before, but I love it that much. Really, I do. Hair band in outer space? Yes. Just so much yes.

1. Sing for Absolution – Muse

I’ve been half-in-love with Muse from the time that I was in high school, so it’s hard for me to pick just one of their songs to top the list, but I managed to do it. Still, an hour spent watching Muse videos is an hour well spent.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

