When I first began teaching, I decided that I would be the lame teacher who handed out “Happy birthday!” bookmarks to students on their day of birth. Super-lame, I know, but I’m a teacher. And I always, always, always made sure to write a personal note on the back of the bookmark wishing them an awesome day. But, it would appear that I’m one of the few continuing this tradition – at least, one of the few in the secondary levels.

How do I know this? Because I spend hours upon hours searching for new ones to replenish my supplies each year. But this summer, I’ve hit a wall. In vain, I have searched for age-appropriate birthday bookmarks. Yet after each Google/pinterest/etsy search, I come up empty-handed.

At the end of this year, it reached a point where the bookmarks that I COULD find were too young even for my middle schoolers, and now that I’m teaching freshmen, there’s no way I can find anything suitable in the teacher stores or online. In fact, earlier this summer, I was even questioning the wisdom of continuing my tradition, considering that this Snoopy one was the best I could find.

2883916

Not so much.

But then, during my summer travels, I read Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick, and I found this little passage:

“In elementary school, the teachers always remembered your birthday, and that was nicer. There were cupcakes or brownies, or at least cookies, and everyone sang in a way that made you feel really special and a part of something, even if you really hated all of your classmates deep down. There’s a reason the elementary teachers did that. It wasn’t just for fun. It was important.”

He goes on to talk about how eventually, birthdays stop being a big deal, and it has a lot to do with his character development and the plot, and…look, the point is: I cried. So, of course, I now must continue with the tradition.

And in the absence of enough demand for birthday bookmarks for consumers over the age on 10 to create a supply, I made my own, and somehow even managed to tie them in with the English  curriculum. #winning

I ordered 250 of these beauties, that will be produced as soon as someone in the office proofreads them and asks me if I’m sure I want to humiliate myself that many times.

Go ahead, bask in their nerdy-rap gloriousness.

Full bleed

You know you want one.

 

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

