The past month has not been a great one for me.

Actually, it’s been ridiculously tumultuous, to the point that I can’t even handle writing. As you may have noticed. Times like this are why I even created my blogging habits of Sunday Serenade and Saturday Snapshot – so that no matter how bad things got, I wouldn’t completely stop the blog. I would keep the habit and then, when I was feeling recovered, I would truly get back into it and continue writing.

I’m not there yet. I have no clue when I will be.

But I have something important to note.

During this ridiculous month, I spent 2.2 weeks teaching kids who were not actually mine, while my kids had a substitute in class. And let me tell you, it was the very opposite of a picnic.

I almost quit.

Twice.

However, now that I’m back in my own classroom – taking a mental health day on Monday, no less – I have to say that my trials have shown me two important things.

#1: Sometimes cliches are true. Like this one.

Photo May 15, 8 46 26 AM

It certainly did for both my students and me.

Which is oh-so case-in-point to #2: My students actually are worth it.

Yeah, I almost quit last week.

And yeah, I was miserable beyond words for two weeks.

But the silver lining to that mother of a cloud is that it reminded me how lucky I am to get the chance to build relationships with these students who really and truly need them. And that my students? My baby-children, as I affectionately refer to them? They’re good inside. Even if it’s way, waaaaaay buried underneath drama and tough shells.

But once in a while, they let it out. For me.

And that’s what makes my job special.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

