Actually, I hope not. I honestly can’t remember the last time that my family cooked our own turkey. We’re good at side dishes, but we’re too lazy to make the main course. We hire out for that.

In any case, I hope my title doesn’t turn out to be true. That would be, like, the saddest thing ever.

But in truth, I’ve been sooooo…OVER Thanksgiving this year, and I blame Facebook. I mean, look, people, I’m glad that you’re thankful for the people and things that you love. I really am. You should be. No one wants to be friends with some jerk who takes everything for granted.

But can we just tone it down a little bit? The first couple of “thankful days” are genuine and sweet, but then people start really reaching and it loses its sparkle.

Actual post I read earlier this month: “I’m thankful for the second amendment, which allows me not only to protect myself but also to hunt delicious food for my loving family.”

FOR REAL? I mean, look, I know my friends are from Texas and Missouri…but for real, for real? Ew.

So instead of doing a month-long list, or even a list right here today, I’ve decided to pick just the one thing that I’m most thankful for and write about that. Of course, you know my one thing has multiple parts. I mean, it is me, after all.

I’m thankful for ALL my different families.

I mean, sure, there’s the one that I was born into, and they’re pretty decent. They’re also the one that’s going to devour my cookies, what’s left of my pumpkin bars (I should never leave tasty things at my parents’ house and expect them to be there a couple of days later), and this little guy:

unnamed

But you know, the thing that no one mentions to you when you’re a kid (I think because it would split your loyalties) is that eventually you have more than one family.

As you move on and get older, you’ll find a family anywhere that you spend the majority of your time. And the brilliant part about it is that most of the time, you get to actually choose that family. Take college, for example. I found two different people to be parental units in college, one of whom we actually called “Mama,” and I even added on a few uncles and aunties (thanks, professors and bosses). Not to mention the long, long list of sisters and brothers, even a few children if you played your cards right, which I did. Most of that comes from working in ResLife.

But it didn’t stop when I got out of college, it just got harder to define people as “families” while everyone was so busy adding to their original unit with weddings and pregnancies. Still, they’re all important and they’re all very real.

So yes. I’m thankful for all of my families that support me.

My college family, who helped me solidify just exactly who I am and what I want in life, and constantly remind me of it. Even when I’d really rather forget myself sometimes.

My work family, which is the most like a true family, because we have all those weird relatives that do strange things, we keep adding new ones, and there’s a lot of drama, but when we get together with the family members we actually like, it’s golden. They’re the reason that I’m still alive halfway through our third six weeks, and sometimes the reason that I keep coming back in the morning.

And finally, my writing family, who inspire me and support me in doing what I love – whether I suck at it or have time for it or not. I call this one my “secret family,” because for the most part, not only does no one else interact with them, but they don’t even interact with each other. But on Thanksgiving, you guys are getting your first real shout out via my blog…though a few of you have been mentioned before because you belong to more than one family.

And yes, some of my families are more important than others, but I need all of them to make it work.

Because in the end, I think that every single one of my “family members” would protect me as best they can – even if it means eating something that isn’t quite right.

Happy turkey day, all! May your trifles be meat-free.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

