Guys.

Guys. 

A few weeks ago, I apologized for liking and therefore posting the Gold Rush video, because I had a sneaking suspicion that it was the most unforgivable song of the summer.

My suspicion was so wrong, it’s not even funny.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give the most inexcusable music video I’ve seen in recent years. And I like Ke$ha and Robin Thicke. At least their videos are witty or insane or are so self-satisfied you have to love them for it or maybe even have some redeemable value.

Not this one. There are just…so…many…butts…I hate you, Pitbull and Flo Rida. I hate you because you could have done so much more with this hilariously catchy booty song. But instead, now I’m so disgusted by your lack of creative effort ‘can’t believe it.’

Yeah, I went there. It’s bad, but they deserved it. I promise.

It’s really upsetting, right? And, I mean, the thing is, you can do a music video of a song about ass in a much better way, okay? You can. I’ll prove it.

Below are my top 5 picks for music videos of songs about the booty. Yes, this is happening. Right now.

5. Shake Ya Ass by Mystikal

Yeah, there’s plenty of grinding and business, but that’s to be expected – wanna know how they stepped up their game? There’s actually a legit storyline here, folks, not just a series of asses on parade. My apologies that it’s the cleaned up version (yes, this is the clean version) of this song, but we work with what we’ve got on my blog.

4. Ms. New Booty by Bubba Sparks

“Do you want people to stop you on the street and ask you if you’re wearing cantaloupes in your jeans?”

You know people would buy that on HSN. Don’t even lie.

3. Bootylicious by Destiny’s Child

Booty shaking? Check. Booty smacking? Check. Dressing room montage? Check.

2. My Humps by Fergie (Yes, technically the Peas, but be real.)

The key to this music video is clearly the booty popping and rubbing. Clearly.

1. Baby Got Back by Sir-Mix-A-Lot

Be honest, you totally expected this to be number one. And for good reason. (not that you’re psychic) I’m just not sure what that reason is…I just like it.

PS – I go back to work tomorrow, which makes this the last Sunday Serenade of the summer. 

I think I’ve used it well.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

