Seeing as how I’m going (and hopefully coercing someone to go with me) to her concert here in the 2-1-4 in less than 2 months, I decided that maybe I should actually get to know Aimee Mann’s new CD better on my numerous flights back from NYC this week. So I stuck my old, faithful purple iPod mini on repeat and listened to it for like, 5 hours, give or take.

Needless to say, I still adore her and her, according to Kevin Seccia, “sweeping melodic tales of woe and love lost.” She’s so fantastic, I don’t even care that her songs aren’t any of my other friends’ cups of tea. Or coffee. And she’s still my go-to soundtrack for painting or writing or…doing pretty much anything.

What I love about listening to her music is that while the notes are beautiful, it’s not about her voice or guitar playing – she really makes her music about the message. Her words are the true stars of the show. Which is why I had to rewatch this music video a couple of times in order to not be so distracted by the whole “it’s Laura Linney!” thing and see how it fits the actual song.

I approve. Obvs.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

