National Novel Writing Month!

If you haven’t heard of this phenomenon, then allow me to enlighten you.

It’s pretty self-explanatory. Crazy people all over the world commit to writing a 50,000 word novel in a single month. 30 days. It happens. It’s fantastic. It’s charted online.

And, for the 4th year, I’m doing it. I’m so enthused. I might even post a few excerpts or inspiring messages as I go along – mostly to make up for not posting anything else for about 30 days (minus the Sunday Serenades, of course). Generally, all of my writing juices slowly leak out of me throughout November and I can’t be relied on to keep up with my stuff. I always start out the month being super-positive and psyched, but by the end I want to die and never, ever write anything ever again.

Which is why, of course, I start each year more and more excited to compensate for the inevitable pit of defeat that I’ll fall into somewhere around the third week.

And really, I shouldn’t call it defeat, because for the past 2 years, I’ve finished! 50,000+ words each time.

But this year? This year I’m facing a new challenge I’ve designed for myself.

This year, I’ve decided to try my hand at writing a young adult novel. The past two years, it’s been adult novels…people getting married, being an RA, having lots of first world problems, that type of thing. But now, I’ve decided to play to one of my strengths.

I get kids. I understand them. I speak their language – and trust me, they have their own (which, by the way, makes all teenagers second-language learners, when you think about it).

So why haven’t I written a book for them?

Simple. I like to write about drinking, and being inappropriate, and…well..sex!

So I always thought I wouldn’t enjoy writing a young adult novel as much. You see where I’m going with this, right?

One day, I remembered that young adult novels are written for young adults. And they, too, like to read about drinking and profanity and OF COURSE sex. Because, let’s face it, that’s all they WILL read about of their own free will.

I have no clue what this book will be at this point. But what I do know is that when I finally sit down (because I won’t be able to start at midnight, sadly, I have yearbook deadlines to meet) to write my first 1667 words tomorrow, it’s going to be awesome.

Happy NaNoWriMo, fellow novelists! And may the muses be with you.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

