As most of my friends and family know, I recently bought a house.

In fact, it was exactly one month ago that I spent the first full night in a home that I own. I’m not counting the night before…because if you get in at 2am, that’s not so much a full night as a full morning, wouldn’t you agree?

Anyway, over the next week I got all my boxes moved in, and I turned in the keys to my rental house.

One might wonder, of course, what I’ve been doing over the past month since I moved.

Painting, cleaning, unpacking, decorating, installing, adjusting. Lots of verbs, basically.

And what do I have to show for it? A set of photos that seems to progress backwards. You’ll see what I mean in a minute.

When I first moved in, it was just new paint, furniture, and kitchen stuff…all the boxes were still at the rental house. I took some “before” photos of the inside AFTER I moved the furniture in, because I couldn’t handle the photos pre-paint job.

Nice, right? I thought so. And I could juuuust picture once I had all of my art on the walls, and my books set up, how beautiful it would be. And I decided to make that area near the fireplace into the craft area instead of having it in my bedroom like before, and…well…so far it isn’t shaping up the way I hoped. Because every time that I finish unpacking one box, I feel like two more take their place.

It’s like trying to get rid of a Hydra by chopping off its head, basically. One step forward, two steps back. So, friends, I have these “after” pictures that I hope to have looking MUCH better in the next couple of weeks before I get my very first visitor.

For now, just….forgive me.

Could my house BE any messier? Probably not. But I don’t so much care. I still love it.

You see, this could stress me out. Or, instead, I could remind myself that I love clutter, which makes it less urgent for me to put it all away. I could also remind myself that if I got the house just the way I wanted it right now, I’d get bored pretty fast. But usually, I don’t need those reminders.

Why? Because if I’ve done one thing in this month, it was making this place my home.

It may not look perfect, and I may not have my art on the walls yet, but the physical part is getting there. Mentally, emotionally, I’ve arrived. This is my home.

I focused this first month on spending time in the house. I read, I took baths, I did laundry, I napped with the dogs, I walked the dogs around the neighborhood. I sat on the patio. I lounged while watching TV.

I unpacked Oatmeal and gave him a tour of the new digs.

Basically, I just lived in the house. And I already feel like it’s my home, after just 4 weeks.

That’s not normal for me. I usually need more adjustment time than this. But even my “autopilot” on the way home from work has corrected itself. I no longer miss my turn, because I know where home is.

It’s right here.

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

3 responses »

  1. Caitlin says:

    I read “could my house BE any messier” in Matthew Perry’s voice.

  2. […] and I was floating in a sea of self-doubt is huge. I mean, it’s not just a commitment to the house, but a commitment to staying in Dallas. A commitment to living in the same town I teach in. A […]

Leave a Reply

