This past week, I’ve been getting my classroom ready. It still has a LONG way to go, unfortunately. Oh well, I have tomorrow, right?

One of the changes I made this year was to get rid of my old inspirational quote above one of my boards. For the past three years, it read:

Never judge a man until you’ve walked two moons in his moccasins.

It had shoes around it. It was adorable.

And besides that, it was one that the kids needed to read and understand. But this year, the dynamic in my group of kiddos has totally changed. It’s going to be a new challenge, and I think it will be good for me. These kids have different social development needs – and so I’m changing it to one that will address their need for personality improvement.

it takes courage to grown up and become who you really are. – e. e. cummings

Not only should this quote inspire my kiddos to be proud of themselves…and hopefully be true to their own personalities rather than what they think their friends want…it is also by my favorite poet of all time. And, I realized a few days ago, it’s my goal for myself – not just my students.

I think one of our biggest struggles as individuals is not only “finding ourselves,” but being true to that self once we’ve uncovered it. I know it’s a major uphill battle for me, at least, even if I come off as supremely confident and self-assured most of the time.

I may look like John McClane on the outside, but inside I’m sniveling and petting my tail.

I find inspiration to be myself in those moments of my life where I see people being fab in their own way, and I realize, “If they can let their rockin’ awesome weirdness shine through, then I DEFINITELY can!”

My weekend in St. Louis was just a series of those moments. My gorgeous, fantastic friend Emilee got married (yay!), and as she’s one of the most confident and unapologetically original people I know, it was totally fabulous. I mean, I don’t know many people who would be confident enough to have Harry Potter music played instead of the bridal march, let their bridesmaids pick their own dresses, use water gun painting as their unity ceremony, and go to White Castle in their wedding dress. I’m pretty sure she’s it. And that makes me sad, because her wedding was so much fun.

So I raise my glass (of Diet Coke – I had way too much to drink this weekend) to her and the new hubs. Thanks for the memories and, inadvertently, an extra dose of confidence, too. xoxo

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

