I have a problem with commitment.

Most people who know me are nodding along at this point. In fact, many people who don’t know me, but simply read my blog, are probably nodding along as well. It’s not exactly a well-kept secret.

And this issue with commitment is the main reason why I don’t put bumper stickers on my car.

It’s not that I think I won’t promote learning to “coexist” in 10 years. I will.

Credit to psgreen1

Credit to psgreen1

Or that I won’t still think that Trops is fucking awesome. I will.

Yes, I realize I’ve used this image before, but I really like Trops.

It’s that I don’t know how long I’ll want to keep my car…and have you ever tried to sell a car in Texas with liberal bumper stickers? I’m pretty sure that drives down the value of a used car by 25%, while a “I Miss Bush” bumper sticker actually bumps it up 5%.

Scientific fact. (Or made-up fact by myself, who is definitely not a scientist.)

But sometimes, there are causes that are more important than my own foibles with commitment and when I meet one of those causes, I have to put my own anxieties aside and, in the words of Nike, just do it.

So what did I do?

To find out, you’ll need to check out my new (and ultimately short-lived) politicallythemed blog for the upcoming season. It’s that time again, folks.

http://obamawesome.wordpress.com/

*credit to purpleslog for the ‘featured image’ in this post.
About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

