The lyrics to this song from KT Tunstall’s first album are great. I mean, honestly and truly inspiring. Take a quick listen by pressing play on the video below.

Okay, so now that you’ve heard it, let me tell you why I picked it for this week.

I’ve spent the bulk of this week in New York with my fabulous ex-roomie and her hubs. T-woo always, without fail, brings out the best in my personality. Even when we fought like cats and dogs, I was still an excellent fighter and, eventually, a decent compromiser…not always true. Just ask my family.

This week reminded me of something: it reminded me of who I want to be AND who I need to be in order to be who I want to be.

I know it’s confusing. I do. But progress is often confusing. So if you’re looking for a simple, succinct reason that this song is this week’s song du jour…it’s because I want to be the girl that song is about.

I want to be the girl who knows exactly what she wants and goes after it without hesitation.

I want to be the girl whose life inspires her students – or, in the future, whoever I’m working to benefit – to seize control of their own journeys and make it work.

I want to be the girl who lives her life fully, who fills up every part of her life so that no stray corner is lacking.

And I know I can, I just have to work at being true to me. 🙂

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

