Ladies and gents,

This week is a prime example of why I started this whole Sunday feature to begin with – my inability to remain consistent.

I spent a whole lot of time this week working my tush off and collapsing as soon as I got home. The next two weeks promise to be a lot of the same. And that means that maybe, just maybe, I may not have the time or energy to blog about what’s going on in my life…what part of life I’ve been pondering lately.

But today, I’m sitting down and taking a few minutes out to do the Sunday Serenade, because it’s my routine. And because my brain is still tired and I’m definitely going to put some work in on another blog for the upcoming week, I’m going to pick an easy song to deconstruct.

One that’s easy for me, anyway. Because I’ve been listening to it since I was 10.

The really fantastic thing about the Spice Girls (and this song in particular) is that they were very much all about friendship. Can you honestly say that any other group of recent years – outside the horrible ones from the Disney channel – is really all about playing up the girl power thing? I don’t think so.

A lot of today’s music is polarizing and disrespectful to women and different races – not to mention sexual preferences. And I’m not going to pretend I don’t listen to that stuff, I do. I even write about it on here. But I appreciate music that has a positive message just as much, and what’s the main message of this particular song?

Pick your friends over a guy, every day of the week. Can I call that hos before bros? I’m going to, either way.

As an added bonus, I’ll also leave the link to my fave Spice Girls song, one with the message: “Man up and commit or I’m out of here.”

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

