Today, I’m writing about a song that’s topped the charts rather recently. It’s still fresh enough, in fact, that I crank up my radio when it comes on and, more often than not, roll my windows down to sing along.

Calvin Harris, a white boy from Scotland, has created some of the best dance music on the planet. But his latest song, Feel So Close, surpassed them all, in my opinion.

Now, if you’ve only listened to the song on the radio or your iPod and haven’t watched the music video, then stop right now and go ahead and watch the embedded clip at the top so that you understand what I’m talking about. Because honestly? I can’t describe it terribly well. But I’ll give it a shot.

When you just listen to the song, you get all the sexiness, the tension that exists in the song. It’s one of those songs that you can’t resist moving your body to, it makes you feel enthused, confident, and beautiful. And, if you’re like me, it makes you want to go out RIGHT NOW. Even if it’s 7:30 am and I’m on my way to work.

But what intrigues me most about this song is the sharp contrast between how I feel listening to the song and how I feel when I actually watch the music video. In the video, we see an old man doing what he loves, a little girl dancing through ruins, two groups of teenagers, and the song’s author himself. The little girl is the one who touches my heart more than any of the others, because you can see her escaping into her imagination, away from the junk and filth that she’s living in. The juxtaposition (SAT word alert) of all these relationships in this video makes the song about so much more than…well…sex. It’s about the connections that we all forge each day in every different way.

And for that, I appreciate it. For that, it’s worth at least one mention. Plus, I mean, as I mentioned before…the song’s hot. 🙂

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

