Welcome to a new experiment for my blog.

If you’ve read any of my other blogs, you know I get theme-crazy. And I’ve struggled for the past couple of months to define a theme for this blog despite the fact that I made it with the sole purpose of NOT having a theme.

What can I say? I’m a creature of habit.

So to satisfy my type-A need for routine, I’ve decided to make a weekly commitment to post at least one fabulous song a week and talk about it a little. Fun, right?

Fair warning – I have very indiscriminate taste. So while today’s is very sweet and girly, there’s a strong chance that next week’s will be a little misogynistic. It’s how I roll.

Erin McCarley – Pony (It’s OK)

The video above is the acoustic version of the song. Despite my love for this adorable song, apparently it doesn’t have a professional music video. Good to know.

I thought that I’d kick this little feature off with a song that’s not only adorable, but also be someone with a rather familiar first name. 😉 Fun fact: she was also born in Garland, which is like, next door to my home town.

So, this song. It’s boppy. It’s upbeat. It’s cute. It gets stuck in your head pretty fast.

But those four qualities, while noteworthy, aren’t what make it one of my favorite cheer-up songs. This song came to my attention when I was just starting my final semester at Mizzou. I was, despite still being in college and loving my life, highly pessimistic about my future. I didn’t know what was going on, what I wanted to be going on, or really anything at all.

Enter this song.

The whole idea of Pony is right there in the parentheses: it’s okay. Yeah, your life is ridiculous. Yeah, you don’t really know what’s up…so what? Don’t just DEAL with the way things are…USE it.

Toward the end of the song, we hear a shift and the following lyrics:

It’s time for you to prove within your ruby shoes
You deserve a smile with no regret
Oh, look at you kicking off your shoes
Dancing for the world to see, you got the power to believe
Open up and sing and go be free and fly away.

Basic interpretation via me: There isn’t any magic to fix it, but you don’t need it. What you need it to grow up and love your life.

Done and done. Fabulous. I love it.

Leave a Reply

