Yes, I am aware that it is Monday. I’ve even been brushing up on my adorable kitten posters. See?

If I only I had listened…but no, I just haaad to acknowledge Monday. Because I’m aware that it’s today, and I have four more days to make it through before I get a break. This does not, under any circumstances, stop me from picturing the weekend in all its shiny glory. You see, today was one of THOSE days.

A day when I was constantly behind, no matter how hard I worked.
A day when my kids pushed my limits to the ultimate extreme.
A day when everyone wanted something from me, but no one gave me anything.

And really, I was sooo not prepared to deal with that. Because I discovered a deep, dark secret that I doubt many people have discovered before.

We THINK we all hate Mondays because they signal the end of the weekend, they take away our freedom, our hopes, our dreams, our promise of a new life.

Yeah, that’s probably part of it, but it’s not all of it. Mondays just plain suck. I mean it. If Sunday is the Lord’s Day, then Monday definitely belongs to Satan – forget about what goes on Saturday night, that’s just pregaming. Mondays are the real pit of fire and brimstone. And if we didn’t have the weekend before them, they would be absolutely unbearable.

Don’t believe me? It’s true. I just lived through a Monday without a weekend and it was horrid.

You see, as my fbook followers already know, I spent all weekend, starting after dinner Friday and stretching to 10pm last night working. Now, you’re probably thinking to yourself, “I’ve done this before. It’s fine.” But did you work at your normal, 9-5 job all weekend? Or was it a part-time job? Maybe even something grad-school related? If that’s the case, then you are of the mind that I was before today.

I thought it was no big deal. I’d worked on weekends before. I’d had weekends that I thought I needed a weekend to recover from. But I never, EVER spent a weekend completely wrapped up in paperwork, lesson planning, grading, and everything else. Seriously. I saw no friends, I left the house only twice, and I still wasn’t done.

So when I got to work this morning, I felt like I had never left. It felt like a Wednesday or a Thursday…but oh, it was so much worse in the end. I walked out of the building at 4 pm, and our fabulous custodian asked me if I needed a hug, I looked so bad. I took it, friends, and it was the best.

The lesson I learned today is that if I want to keep loving my job (and I do, I really, truly do) then I need to keep my weekends as weekends. No more locking myself in the house to finish my paperwork. Even if it seems like it’s the only option, I need to find a different one. Maybe I time-turner, I don’t know, but anything other than giving up my entire weekend.

So I’m going to focus on that light at the end of the tunnel. 4pm on Friday afternoon. And if I don’t turn in all the pages on time, if I don’t get all the votes counted to announce a winner, if I don’t have the right meetings scheduled, so what? There’s all of the upcoming week for that, right?

I feel like I’m right. And I’m going to tuck into bed with some Girl Scout cookies and a grown-up book. Night!

About Imagine Truth

We seek to learn, and when academics do not present the answers, we look inside our own beautiful imaginations for the key.

Leave a Reply

